Receive Imprints news, offers and sales delivered to your inbox.
Block of Books
  •  
  • URGENT ARCHITECTURE : 40 SUSTAINABLE HOUSING SOLUTIONS FOR A CHANGING WORLD
    URGENT ARCHITECTURE : 40 SUSTAINABLE HOUSING SOLUTIONS FOR A CHANGING WORLD
    MEINHOLD BRIDGETTE
    ISBN: 9780393733587
    Title: URGENT ARCHITECTURE : 40 SUSTAINABLE HOUSING SOLUTIONS FOR A CHANGING WORLD
    Author: MEINHOLD BRIDGETTE
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    How can we adequately provide housing when disaster strikes, whether that disaster is weather related, like hurricanes, floods and droughts, happens in a matter of minutes from an earthquake or tsunami, through a slow process like rising sea levels, or is the result of civil disorder or poverty? There is an urgent need for safe, sustainable housing designs that are cheap to build, environmentally friendly and hardy enough to withstand severe environmental conditions. Not only is there climate change to contend with, but there are millions of people, right now, who do not have safe or adequate housing. In Urgent

    Architecture Bridgette Meinhold showcases 40 successful emergency and long-term housing projects from repurposed shipping containers to sandbag homes. She surveys successful structures as well as highlighting promising projects that are still being developed. Every one is quickly deployable, affordable and sustainable. This book is an essential resource for those who are interested in green building, sustainable design, eco-friendly materials, affordable housing, material reuse and humanitarian relief.

    Imprint: NORTON
    RRP: $70.99

    Price: $70.99
  • WAREHOUSE HOME : Industrial Inspiration for Twenty-First-Century Living
    WAREHOUSE HOME : Industrial Inspiration for Twenty-First-Century Living
    BUSH SOPHIE
    ISBN: 9780500519462
    Title: WAREHOUSE HOME : Industrial Inspiration for Twenty-First-Century Living
    Author: BUSH SOPHIE
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    A global look at contemporary, ingenious, and yet comfortable transformations of former industrial spaces into stylish modern residences

    Imprint: THAMES & HUDSON
    RRP: $50.00

    Price: $50.00
  • WARM HOUSE COOL HOUSE
    WARM HOUSE COOL HOUSE
    HOLLO NICK
    ISBN: 9781742232966
    Title: WARM HOUSE COOL HOUSE
    Author: HOLLO NICK
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Warm House Cool House simplifies the science behind low-energy housing design... and suggests inspiring and achievable ways to apply energy-efficient methods to new and existing homes. - Jamie Durie

    We all want to minimise our environmental impact, but we dont always know how. In this new edition of the bestselling Warm House Cool House, respected Australian architect Nick Hollo provides valuable advice, illustrated by more than 100 inspiring contemporary examples of low-energy housing design, to help keep our homes cool in summer and warm in winter with little or no cooling and heating by appliances. The book shows how we can live comfortably without airconditioning in Far North Queensland, be cosy and bushfire-proof in the Australian Alps, and cope with temperature fluctuations in cities like Melbourne and Adelaide. From project and kit homes to new architect-designed houses, renovations and extensions, these low-energy principles can easily be incorporated into every home. Whether you are planning to renovate, build or buy, this book offers clever ideas on how to make any house, anywhere, an environmentally sustainable, comfortable and attractive place to live in, all year round, while keeping electricity, gas and water bills comfortably low.

    Imprint: CHOICE BOOKS
    RRP: $44.99

    Price: $44.99
  • WATERSIDE MODERN
    WATERSIDE MODERN
    POWERS RICHARD
    ISBN: 9780500518007
    Title: WATERSIDE MODERN
    Author: POWERS RICHARD
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    From the Mediterranean to the Pacific Ocean and the tropical idylls of Southeast Asia, this book takes an international trip to the world’s most stunning waterside homes. Photographs of each house reveal its architecture, interior design and surroundings, while plans provide an additional layer of information.

    Dominic Bradbury tells the story of how the dwelling was sited to make the most of its location, how construction innovations were introduced, and how such solutions provide a comfortable space from which families can enjoy the great outdoors. Loosely grouped into three sections, all of these houses – created by leading international architects and designers – offer dazzling inspiration, wherever you are.

    Imprint: THAMES & HUDSON
    RRP: $45.00

    Price: $45.00
  • WELL-TEMPERED CITY: WHAT MODERN SCIENCE ANCIENT CIVILIZATIONS AND HUMAN NATURE TEACH US ABOUT THE FUTURE OF URBAN LIFE
    WELL-TEMPERED CITY: WHAT MODERN SCIENCE ANCIENT CIVILIZATIONS AND HUMAN NATURE TEACH US ABOUT THE FUTURE OF URBAN LIFE
    ROSE JONATHAN
    ISBN: 9780062234728
    Title: WELL-TEMPERED CITY: WHAT MODERN SCIENCE ANCIENT CIVILIZATIONS AND HUMAN NATURE TEACH US ABOUT THE FUTURE OF URBAN LIFE
    Author: ROSE JONATHAN
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    In the vein of Jane Jacobs' The Death and Life of Great American Cities and Edward Glaeser's Triumph of the City, Jonathan F. P. Rose-a visionary in responsible urban development and renewal-champions the role of cities in addressing the environmental, economic and social challenges of the twenty-first century.

    Jonathan F. P. Rose-the man "who repairs the fabric of cities"-has successfully helped to plan or re-develop urban communities around the globe, including New York, Newark, Santa Fe, Denver, and Sao Paolo. Cities are the physical representation of our social behaviors-our economic divides, racial tensions, environmental priorities, and even physical health. Yet, today, with so much crumbling infrastructure, climate change, resource depletion, and sprawl, the way we live is out of sync with nature and with ourselves.

    The Well-Tempered City is an interdisciplinary exploration of the development of cities from the beginning of civilization to the present, revealing the conditions that gave rise to the happiest communities, and the qualities that define them. Rose addresses serious questions about the problems threatening our urban centers, and offers solutions for "balancing prosperity and well-being with efficiency and equality in ways that continually restore the city's social and natural capital."

    Cities are the birthplaces of civilization, the centers of culture, trade, and progress, cauldrons of opportunity and the likely home of seventy percent of the world's population by 2050. A celebration of the city and an impassioned argument for its role in addressing the important issues in these volatile times, The Well-Tempered City is a reasoned, hopeful blueprint for fostering a thriving metropolis.

    The Well-Tempered City is illustrated with black-and-white photos throughout.


    Imprint: HARPER DESIGN
    RRP: $54.99

    Price: $54.99
  • WHAT IS ARCHITECTURE? AND 100 OTHER QUESTIONS
    WHAT IS ARCHITECTURE? AND 100 OTHER QUESTIONS
    WAERN RASMUS
    ISBN: 9781780676029
    Title: WHAT IS ARCHITECTURE? AND 100 OTHER QUESTIONS
    Author: WAERN RASMUS
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Explores the world of architecture through a series of 101 questions and answers that cover a wide range of issues on its practice and theory. Aimed at both general readers as well as those in the field, this book is suitable for anyone interested in architecture.

    Imprint: LAURENCE KING
    RRP: $21.99

    Price: $21.99
  • WHATS SO GREAT ABOUT THE EIFFEL TOWER? : 70 Questions That Will Change the Way You Think About Architecture
    WHATS SO GREAT ABOUT THE EIFFEL TOWER? : 70 Questions That Will Change the Way You Think About Architecture
    GLANCEY JONATHAN
    ISBN: 9781780679198
    Title: WHATS SO GREAT ABOUT THE EIFFEL TOWER? : 70 Questions That Will Change the Way You Think About Architecture
    Author: GLANCEY JONATHAN
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Why do we find the idea of a multi-coloured Parthenon so shocking today? Why was the Eiffel Tower such a target for hatred when it was first built? Is the Sagrada Familia a work of genius or kitsch? This book examines the critical legacy of both well known and either forgotten or underappreciated highpoints in the history of world architecture.

    Imprint: LAURENCE KING
    RRP: $27.99

    Price: $27.99
  • WHERE ARCHITECTS STAY
    WHERE ARCHITECTS STAY
    KRAMER SIBYLLE
    ISBN: 9783037682081
    Title: WHERE ARCHITECTS STAY
    Author: KRAMER SIBYLLE
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    From the archaic forest hut in the mountain, the luxuriously decorated loft in a major metropolis, or the romantic idyllic house by the lake, this title features part-time dream houses that allow visitors to forget the hustle and bustle of everyday life. Each vacation domicile can fulfill even the most discerning demands of a traveling architect.

    Imprint: BRAUN
    RRP: $55.00

    Price: $55.00
  • WHY YOU CAN BUILD IT LIKE THAT : MODERN ARCHITECTURE EXPLAINED
    WHY YOU CAN BUILD IT LIKE THAT : MODERN ARCHITECTURE EXPLAINED
    ZUKOWSKY JOHN
    ISBN: 9780500291788
    Title: WHY YOU CAN BUILD IT LIKE THAT : MODERN ARCHITECTURE EXPLAINED
    Author: ZUKOWSKY JOHN
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    Examines buildings from the past half century or so that pushed the boundaries of what was architecturally acceptable when they were built. This book explores the history of these buildings and their makers, presenting relevant biographical factors and socio-cultural influences that impacted on the distinctive designs.

    Imprint: THAMES & HUDSON
    RRP: $22.00

    Price: $22.00
  • XS - SMALL HOUSES BIG TIME
    XS - SMALL HOUSES BIG TIME
    BAKER LISA
    ISBN: 9783037682029
    Title: XS - SMALL HOUSES BIG TIME
    Author: BAKER LISA
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    The Pleasure of Reduction Rising rents, the desire for a simpler life, the aim for sustainability, or the wish to posses a relocatable home: These are just a few reasons why the market for tiny houses has become increasingly popular in recent years. The “Tiny House Movement“ lifestyle trend, which began in the Unites States, has spread throughout the entire world driven by the construction and financial crisis. Even though there are many regional variations, all residences of this type share a major feature – on an area of up to 60 sqm (500 sqf) they provide all necessities of life. Nowadays, they are no longer designed by individual solo fighters but also by renowned architects who take on the simple yet challenging task and develop the enthralling room concepts and spatial solutions that are presented in this volume.

    Imprint: BRAUN
    RRP: $70.00

    Price: $70.00
Page: 1 .. 5 6 7 8 9