Receive Imprints news, offers and sales delivered to your inbox.
Block of Books
  •  
  • XERXES - KING OF KINGS
    XERXES - KING OF KINGS
    MORRIS IAN MACGREGOR
    ISBN: 9781473822993
    Title: XERXES - KING OF KINGS
    Author: MORRIS IAN MACGREGOR
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: NOT YET PUBLISHED NO DTE

    Xerxes was the most powerful ruler in the world yet his biography has never been written. Ian McGregor-Morris puts the Great King firmly in the context of Persian kingship, reviewing his full reign and policies, not just the failed Greek expedition.

    Imprint: PEN AND SWORD
    RRP: $59.99

    Price: $59.99
  • YEAR WITHOUT SUMMER : 1816 AND THE VOLCANO THAT DARKENED THE WORLD AND CHANGED HISTORY
    YEAR WITHOUT SUMMER : 1816 AND THE VOLCANO THAT DARKENED THE WORLD AND CHANGED HISTORY
    KLINGAMAN WILLIAM K
    ISBN: 9781250042750
    Title: YEAR WITHOUT SUMMER : 1816 AND THE VOLCANO THAT DARKENED THE WORLD AND CHANGED HISTORY
    Author: KLINGAMAN WILLIAM K
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    In the tradition of Krakatoa, The World Without Us, and Guns, Germs and Steel comes a sweeping history of the year that became known as 18-hundred-and-froze-to-death. 1816 was a remarkable year - mostly for the fact that there was no summer. As a result of a volcanic eruption in Indonesia, weather patterns were disrupted worldwide for months, allowing for excessive rain, frost, and snowfall through much of the Northeastern U.S. and Europe in the summer of 1816. In the U.S., the extraordinary weather produced food shortages, religious revivals, and extensive migration from New England to the Midwest. In Europe, the cold and wet summer led to famine, food riots, the transformation of stable communities into wandering beggars, and one of the worst typhus epidemics in history. 1816 was the year Frankenstein was written. It was also the year Turner painted his fiery sunsets. All of these things are linked to global climate change - something we are quite aware of now, but that was utterly mysterious to people in the nineteenth century, who concocted all sorts of reasons for such an ungenial season. Making use of a wealth of source material and employing a compelling narrative approach featuring peasants and royalty, politicians, writers, and scientists, The Year Without Summer by William K. Klingaman and Nicholas P. Klingaman examines not only the climate change engendered by this event, but also its effects on politics, the economy, the arts, and social structures.

    Imprint: ST MARTINS PRESS
    RRP: $19.99

    Price: $19.99
  • YEZIDIS : THE HISTORY OF A COMMUNITY CULTURE AND RELIGION
    YEZIDIS : THE HISTORY OF A COMMUNITY CULTURE AND RELIGION
    ACIKYILDIZ BIRGUL
    ISBN: 9781784532161
    Title: YEZIDIS : THE HISTORY OF A COMMUNITY CULTURE AND RELIGION
    Author: ACIKYILDIZ BIRGUL
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: NOT YET PUBLISHED NO DTE

    The minority communities of northern Iraq are under increasingly severe threat from Islamic State jihadists. Among these minorities, the Yezidis have one of the most remarkable legacies of any tradition in the Middle East. Yet not just their religious and material culture but now their entire existence is in peril as entire populations seek refuge from their violent oppressors.

    But who are the Yezidis (or ‘Yazidis’ as in much of the Western media)? The community has been misunderstood and oppressed for centuries. Predominantly ethnic Kurds, and the target of persecution over many centuries, until now they have succeeded in keeping their ancient religion alive despite the claim that they are ‘devil worshippers.’

    This is the essential guide to a threatened tradition. It reveals an intricate system of belief influenced by Zoroastrianism and Sufism and regional paganism like Mithraism. It explores the origins of the Yezidis, their art and architecture and the often misunderstood (and now progressively life-threatening) connections between Yezidism and the Satan/Sheitan of Christian and Muslim tradition. Extensively illustrated, with maps, photographs and illustrations, this pioneering book is a testimonial to one of the region’s most extraordinary and ancient peoples.


    Imprint: I B TAURIS
    RRP: $39.95

    Price: $39.95
  • YOUNG AND DAMNED AND FAIR : The Life and Tragedy of Catherine Howard at the Court of Henry VIII
    YOUNG AND DAMNED AND FAIR : The Life and Tragedy of Catherine Howard at the Court of Henry VIII
    RUSSELL GARETH
    ISBN: 9780008184926
    Title: YOUNG AND DAMNED AND FAIR : The Life and Tragedy of Catherine Howard at the Court of Henry VIII
    Author: RUSSELL GARETH
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: ACTIVE TITLE

    England July 1540: it is one of the hottest summers on record and the court of Henry VIII is embroiled, once again, in political scandal. Anne Cleves is out. Thomas Cromwell is to be executed and, in the countryside, an aristocratic teenager named Catherine Howard prepares to become fifth wife to the increasingly unpredictable monarch.

    In the five centuries since her death, Catherine Howard has been dismissed as ‘a wanton', ‘inconsequential' or a naïve victim of her ambitious family, but the story of her rise and fall offers not only a terrifying and compelling story of an attractive, vivacious young woman thrown onto the shores of history thanks to a king's infatuation, but an intense portrait of Tudor monarchy in microcosm: how royal favour was won, granted, exercised, displayed, celebrated and, at last, betrayed and lost.

    The story of Catherine Howard is both a very dark fairy tale and a gripping political scandal.Born into the nobility and married into the royal family, during her short life Catherine was almost never alone. Attended every waking hour by servants or companions, secrets were impossible to keep.
    With his research focus on Catherine's household, Gareth Russell has written a narrative that unfurls as if in real-time to explain how the queen's career ended with one of the great scandals of Henry VIII's reign.

    More than a traditional biography, this is a very human tale of some terrible decisions made by a young woman, and of complex individuals attempting to survive in a dangerous hothouse where the odds were stacked against nearly all of them. By illuminating Catherine's entwined upstairs/downstairs worlds, and bringing the reader into her daily milieu, the author re-tells her story in an exciting and engaging way that has surprisingly modern resonances and offers a fresh perspective on Henry's fifth wife.

    Young and Damned and Fair is a riveting account of Catherine Howard's tragic marriage to one of history's most powerful rulers. It is a grand tale of the Henrician court in its twilight, a glittering but pernicious sunset during which the king's unstable behaviour and his courtiers' labyrinthine deceptions proved fatal to many, not just to Catherine Howard.

    Imprint: COLLINS
    RRP: $32.99
    Price: $32.99
  • ZHIVAGO AFFAIR : THE KREMLIN THE CIA AND THE BATTLE OVER A FORBIDDEN BOOK
    ZHIVAGO AFFAIR : THE KREMLIN THE CIA AND THE BATTLE OVER A FORBIDDEN BOOK
    FINN PETER
    ISBN: 9780099581345
    Title: ZHIVAGO AFFAIR : THE KREMLIN THE CIA AND THE BATTLE OVER A FORBIDDEN BOOK
    Author: FINN PETER
    Format: PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    1956. Boris Pasternak presses a manuscript into the hands of an Italian publishing scout with these words: ‘This is Doctor Zhivago. May it make its way around the world.' Pasternak knew his novel would never be published in the Soviet Union as the authorities regarded it as seditious, so, instead, he allowed it to be published in translation all over the world - a highly dangerous act.

    1958. The life of this extraordinary book enters the realms of the spy novel. The CIA, recognising that the Cold War was primarily an ideological battle, published Doctor Zhivago in Russian and smuggled it into the Soviet Union. It was immediately snapped up on the black market. Pasternak was later forced to renounce the Nobel Prize in Literature, igniting worldwide political scandal.

    With first access to previously classified CIA files, The Zhivago Affair gives an irresistible portrait of Pasternak, and takes us deep into the Cold War, back to a time when literature had the power to shake the world.

    Imprint: VINTAGE
    RRP: $22.99

    Price: $22.99
  • ZINKY BOYS : SOVIET VOICES FROM THE AFGHANISTAN WAR
    ZINKY BOYS : SOVIET VOICES FROM THE AFGHANISTAN WAR
    ALEXIEVICH SVETLANA
    ISBN: 9780393336863
    Title: ZINKY BOYS : SOVIET VOICES FROM THE AFGHANISTAN WAR
    Author: ALEXIEVICH SVETLANA
    Format: TRADE PAPER COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    From 1979 to 1989 a million Soviet troops engaged in a devastating war in Afghanistan that claimed 50,000 casualties - and the youth and humanity of many tens of thousands more.

    In Zinky Boys journalist Svetlana Alexievich gives voice to the tragic history of the Afghanistan War. What emerges is a story that is shocking in its brutality and revelatory in its similarities to the American experience in Vietnam - a resemblance that Larry Heinemann describes movingly in his introduction to the book, providing American readers with an often uncomfortably intimate connection to a war that may have seemed very remote to us. The Soviet dead were shipped back in sealed zinc coffins (hence the term "Zinky Boys"), while the state denied the very existence of the conflict; even today the radically altered Soviet society continues to reject the memory of the "Soviet Vietnam". Creating controversy and outrage when it was first published in the USSR - it was called by reviewers there a "slanderous piece of fantasy" and part of a "hysterical chorus of malign attacks" - Zinky Boys presents the candid and affecting testimony of the officers and grunts, nurses and prostitutes, mothers, sons, and daughters who describe the war and its lasting effects. Svetlana Alexievich has snatched from the memory hole the truth of the Afghanistan War: the beauty of the country and the savage Army bullying, the killing and the mutilation, the profusion of Western goods, the shame and shattered lives of returned veterans.

    Zinky Boys offers a unique, harrowing, and unforgettably powerful insight into the realities of war and the turbulence of Soviet life today.

    Imprint: NORTON
    RRP: $29.99

    Price: $29.99
  • ZIONISM
    ZIONISM
    VIORST MILTON
    ISBN: 9781250078001
    Title: ZIONISM
    Author: VIORST MILTON
    Format: HARD COVER
    Publishing status: TEMPORARILY OUT OF STOCK

    Viorst examines how Zionism was born and follows its development through the lives and ideas of its dominant leaders, who all held only one tenet in common: that Jews, for the first time in two millennia, must determine their own destiny to save themselves.

    Imprint: THOMAS DUNNE BOOKS
    RRP: $39.99

    Price: $39.99
Page: 1 .. 45 46 47 48 49